

HOME

IAQMS

NEWS

NEWS

The 2023 IAQMS meeting was held in Bratislava, Slovakia, on June 25–26.

• the Medal was awarded to

Edit Mátyus (Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary)

- LAUREATESFor developments in high-precision theoretical quantum chemistry
that combine non-Born-Oppenheimer effects, quantum
electrodynamics and special relativity, all done with an emphasis on
molecular systems that will play a central role in testing fundamental
physics.
- **MEMBERS**
- ABOUT -
- PRIVATE



• the following were elected as new members:

Sonia Coriani (DTU, Denmark)
Clémence Corminbœuf (EPFL, Switzerland)
Henrik Koch (NTNU, Norway and Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa, Italy)
Roland Lindh (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Hiromi Nakai (Wasada University, Japan)
Shaul Mukamel (University of California at Irvine, USA)
Ed Valeev (Virginia Tech, USA)

- The 2022 IAQMS meeting was held online on June 18–19.
 - the Medal was awarded to

Sandeep Sharma (University of Colorado Boulder, USA)

For his original contributions to the development of efficient algorithms in DMRG, selected CI and quantum Monte Carlo methods.



• the following were elected as new members:

Daniel Crawford (Virginia Tech, USA) Jeremy N. Harvey (KU Leuven, Belgium) Kenneth D. Jordan (University of Pittsburgh, USA) Markus Reiher (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

- The 2021 IAQMS meeting was held online on June 19–20.
 - the Medal was awarded to

Debashree Ghosh (Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata, India)

For her creative applications of strongly correlated methods and a novel excited state scheme to elucidate bonding in molecules, with important applications to fluorescent protein systems and the bio-pigment melanin.



• the following were elected as new members:

Giulia Galli (University of Chicago, USA)
Eberhard K. U. Gross (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)
Peter J. Rossky (Rice University, USA)
Joachim Sauer (Humboldt University Berlin, Germany)

• **Odile Eisenstein** and **Laura Gagliardi** have been elected to the US National Academy of Sciences.



- The 2020 IAQMS meeting was held online on June 27
 - the Medal was awarded to

Francesco Evangelista (Emory University, Atlanta, USA)

For his significant contributions to multireference coupled cluster methods, the driven similarity renormalization group approach, adaptive configuration interaction, and quantum computing.



- The 2019 IAQMS meeting was held in Menton, France, on July 6–7
 - the following were elected as new members

Tucker Carrington (Queens University, Canada)
 Laura Gagliardi (University of Minnesota, USA)
 Péter Szalay (ELTE Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary)
 Birgitta Whaley (University of California, Berkeley, USA)

Takeshi Yanai (Nagoya University, Japan)



the Medal was awarded to

Julien Toulouse (Sorbonne University, France)

For his deep and original contributions to the development of electron-correlation methods at the interface of wave-function theory (WFT) and density-functional theory (DFT), with important contributions to range-separated DFT, double-hybrid DFT, and the diffusion Monte Carlo (DMC) method.

International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science



ARCHIVE

News archive can be found here.